Provide a confirmation message

Each time a form is successfully validated, it is recommended to provide a confirmation message.

This message should remind the user of the action that has been executed.

Screen capture, caption below.
Following the addition of an item to the shopping bag,
a confirmation message is clearly displayed on the screen near the « ADD TO BAG » button.

Warning

Confirmation messages must not disappear automatically. Messages must only disappear on a user action (closing button, new page, new form submission, etc.).

Note

In some circumstances, a confirmation message is not necessary, as the page displayed after submitting the form makes the result of the action obvious. For example:

  • A login form that sends the user to a “User profile” page.
  • A “Go to next step” button that sends the user to the next step in a form with multiple steps.
  • A comment form that sends the user to the comment posted.
  • Etc.

Comments

Add a comment

Required fields are marked *.

Back to top